Svenglish så långt, en dikt

 
Swenglish - so far
 

I’ve been a fly on the wall,

a spy in the everyday life

of my friends

 

The walls between

me and other people

have become thin

like five-pound notes

 

I’ve shared their

fry-ups and Sunday roasts

their fish ‘n’ chips

and Marmite toast

 

I’ve read stories to little brats

and battled with wild cats

I’ve cleared up domestic mess

God bless the English

- keep calm and carry on!

 

I’ve met fussy tea drinkers

and heavy deep thinkers

Mediation and dance

Taking a chance

when quizzing in a pub

surviving the greasy grub

 

Bubbling and squeaking

I’m sick of toilets

that don’t flush and I blush

like the Setting Sun

when I think of all the fun

conversations I’ve had

in bedrooms and bathrooms

 

I’ve slept in a caravan

in kitchens and public houses

Cheers! Another pint,

I feel frail after all the real ale

Beer Festivals and Red Tents

I’ve been up on the Downs

for countryside strolls

and lost control

of weeds in gardens

 

I’ve climbed walls

and I’ve painted walls

I’ve been off the wall

and driven my friends up the wall

 

One woman nearly slapped me

but I felt more numb

when this guy rubbed my bum

 

Breaking down the wall

between Sweden and England

I’m  not Swedish, I’m not English

I’m Swenglish!

 

©Lou Ice 2012

 

Jag skrev den här dikten när jag tänkte tillbaka på mina femton veckor i England som jag spenderade med femton olika människor under våren och försommaren. Nu har jag bara ett par dagar kvar av mitt lov som jag har spenderat i och omkring min hemstad Nässjö. På söndag flyttar jag in hos den första personen i Sverige som bor i Malmö i söder och under hösten kommer jag åka ända till Umeå i norr. Jag är förväntansfull och ser fram mot att vara på resande fot igen!

 

Om du vill veta mer om mitt Svenglish-projekt klicka här.

 

Foto: Adrian Pusha som jobbar för Brighton and Hove TV som gör en dokumentär om Svenglish

 

FOR MORE INFO (IN ENGLISH) PLEASE CLICK HERE


Kommentarer
Postat av: Sara Starkström

Go Looooi!

2012-08-24 @ 10:22:35
URL: http://finest.se/gamegirl

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0